Hitherto the Post Office had been under the control of the Imperial Department, but considerable agitation resulted in the service being transferred on April 6, 1851, to the several provinces. Only enough mutual control was maintained to insure the continuance of Imperial and intercolonial services. The provinces had complete jurisdiction over the establishment and maintenance of systems and rates.

At Confederation the provincial systems were transferred to the Dominion. The Post Office Act of 1867 established a service throughout Canada. The domestic rate on letters was reduced from 5 to 3 cents per half-ounce, and in 1870 the rates to the United States and Great Britain were reduced from 10 to 6 cents and from 123 to 6 cents respectively per half-ounce. In 1875 a convention between Canada and the United States reduced postal rates between the countries to the domestic level. In 1878, on the admission of Canada to the Postal Union, letter postage to the countries of the Postal Union was reduced to 5 cents per half-ounce. After a conference in 1897, Imperial penny postage (2 cents per half-ounce) was established on Dec. 25, 1898, while the domestic rate was reduced from 3 to 2 cents per ounce. These rates were maintained until 1915, when a 1-cent war tax was imposed on all 2-cent letters, on post cards and postal notes. Later the rate to Great Britain was increased to 4 cents an ounce (3 cents on succeeding ounces) while that to Postal Union countries was raised to 10 cents on first and 5 cents on succeeding ounces. Beginning July 1, 1926, penny postage again became effective for Canada, the United States, Newfoundland and other countries of the continent of North America. For these countries the rate is 2 cents per ounce, while for Great Britain and other countries of the British Empire it is 3 cents per ounce, and for Postal Union countries 8 cents on the first ounce and 4 cents on succeeding ounces.

The Post Office Department is administered by the Postmaster-General. Besides the several administrative branches within the Department, the Dominion is divided into 15 districts, each in charge of a Post Office Inspector. The Canadian system embraces a territory more extensive than that served by any other systems except those of the United States and Russia, the sparsity of population and the comparative lack of development making inevitable a peculiarly difficult and expensive service.

Rural Mail Delivery.—A system of rural mail delivery was inaugurated in Canada on Oct. 10, 1908, limited at that time to existing stage routes, persons residing on such routes being entitled to have mail boxes put up in which the mail carrier was to deposit mail matter and from which he was to collect mail matter and carry it to the post office. As a consequence of the public approval of this scheme, new regulations, taking effect on April 1, 1912, made all persons residing in rural districts along and contiguous to well-defined main thoroughfares of one mile and upwards eligible to receive their mail in this manner, while couriers of rural mail routes were also required to sell postage stamps and take applications for and accept money, money orders and postal notes. The result has been an increase in the number of rural routes from approximately 900 in 1912 to 3,784 in 1925, having 199,470 mail boxes as against approximately 25,000 in 1912. The establishment of these routes has been an important factor in the recent amelioration of the conditions of Canadian rural life.

Statistics.—Tables 80 to 82 show the number of post offices in operation in Canada in 1925, gross revenue in all offices collecting \$10,000 and upwards, and the revenue and expenditure of the department since 1890.